NMLS-Approved Continuing Education – Education Requirements

The SAFE Act requires Mortgage Loan Originators to complete a minimum of 8 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education every year.

The 8-hours of continuing education must include:

  • 3 Hours of Federal Law
  • 2 Hours of Ethics (including fraud, consumer protection, and lending issues)
  • 2 Hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Lending
  • 1 Hour of undefined instruction on mortgage origination

Note:  Some states also require some state-specific education that may be part of or in addition to the 8-hours of education. See the State-Specific education requirements from the NMLS for details.  

Some states may require 7 hours plus state-specific education, while others may require 8 hours plus state-specific education. The 8-hour courses are called “Comprehensive,” and the 7-hour courses are called “Core” education.

NMLS-approved continuing education courses must be taken in a classroom, a classroom equivalent (such as a webinar), or an online self-study course. Real Estate Institute offers various options, and information on our offerings is available here.

Articles in this section