NMLS-Approved Pre-License – Licensing Exam Information

This article contains the following sections:

SAFE MLO Test General Information

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act) requires all mortgage loan originators seeking state licensure to pass the NMLS-developed SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) Test. Though pre-licensing education is not necessary before taking this examination, creating an account in Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) is required. Instructions on creating an account with the NMLS are available on the NMLS website.

SAFE MLO Test outline for the national test with UST is available on the NMLS website, and their MLO Testing Handbook is available here.

SAFE MLO Test Fees

$110 per attempt.

SAFE MLO Test Scheduling

Prometric administers this examination, and candidates have the option to test at a Prometic Test Center or online with a Prometric ProProctor. It is required to review the procedures for online test delivery to ensure the candidate meets the necessary equipment and testing room requirements by checking the Prometric ProProctor User Guide.

Appointments at a testing center can be scheduled with the NMLS or directly contacting Prometric

SAFE MLO Test Admission

Candidates must bring one form of a current, non-expired, government-issued photo ID with the person’s signature. The name on the candidate’s ID must match the name as it appears on the NMLS account.

Candidates who do not present the required identification will be denied admission to the examination and will be considered absent, resulting in the closure of their enrollment window and forfeiting the examination fee.

SAFE MLO Test Details

The examination contains 120 multiple choice questions which 115 are scored. Candidates are permitted 190 minutes to take the exam.

A candidate must receive a score of 75% or higher.

SAFE MLO Test Retakes

A candidate must wait 30 days to retake their examination. After failing three times, it is required to wait six months before another attempt. A new retake cycle starts, so if a candidate fails again, they will wait 30 days to retake their examination. After failing three times on the new retake cycle, the candidate must wait six months before another attempt. Details on the test retake cycle are available on the NMLS website.

If you cannot find the answer to your question, the NMLS has a list of SAFE MLO Testing FAQs available here, and further details about NMLS and testing requirements are available on the NMLS website.


Articles in this section